← All posts
Comparisons

How Much Does Employee Scheduling Software Cost? 7 Tools Priced at 10, 25 and 50 People (2026)

Employee scheduling software with a mobile time clock costs a US team $20 to $55 a month at 10 people, $30 to $137.50 at 25 people and $30 to $275 at 50 people on monthly billing at one location, and most of the seven tools priced here land in the middle, roughly $25-45, $35-80 and $55-155. The cheapest option at 10 people is Connecteam’s free Small Business plan (up to 10 users), or Sling Premium at $20 if you want a paid plan; at 25 and 50 people it is Homebase Essentials at $30 for one location; and the priciest at every size is Deputy Lite at $55, $137.50 and $275. Below are the full tables for ClockOut, Homebase, When I Work, Deputy, Connecteam, Sling and 7shifts, from each vendor’s own pricing page. Prices checked October 15, 2026.

$20-55
10 people, per month
$30-137.50
25 people, per month
$30-275
50 people, per month

How scheduling software is priced

Vendors use four pricing models. The model matters more than the headline number, because it decides what happens to your bill when you hire or open a new site.

  • Per user. Sling ($2 per user on Premium), When I Work ($2.50 per user at one location) and Deputy ($5.50 per user on Lite, billed monthly) charge for every account, so the bill grows with every hire.
  • Per location. Homebase ($30 per location on Essentials, any number of employees) and 7shifts ($44.99 per location on Essentials, up to 30 employees) charge for each site, so headcount barely matters but every new site adds a full fee.
  • Flat for a block of users. Connecteam charges $35 a month for the first 30 users on Operations Basic, then $1 per extra user, so the bill stays flat until user 31.
  • Base fee plus per user. ClockOut Starter is $19 a month for up to 5 people, then $3 each, so a small team pays the base and each hire after that adds $3.

Employee scheduling software cost at 10, 25 and 50 people

Each figure is the monthly-billing price for one location on the cheapest plan that has a weekly schedule and a mobile time clock, worked out from the rule on the vendor’s pricing page. Headcount means everyone with an account, including the owner and managers. Rows are sorted by the 25-person price. Each tool name links to its official pricing page.

Tool and plan10 people25 people50 peopleHow it is priced
Homebase Essentials$30$30$30$30 per location, unlimited employees
Connecteam Operations Basic$0 (free Small Business plan) or $35$35$55$35 flat for the first 30 users, then $1 each
7shifts Essentials (Pro at 50)$44.99$44.99$89.99$44.99 per location up to 30 employees; Pro $89.99 up to 60
Sling Premium$20$50$100$2 per user
When I Work single location plan$25$62.50$125$2.50 per user at one location
ClockOut Starter$34$79$154$19 for up to 5 people, then $3 each
Deputy Lite$55$137.50$275$5.50 per user, $30 monthly minimum
  • Connecteam at 10 people: the free Small Business plan covers up to 10 users. Connecteam does not say whether admins count toward the 10 (unconfirmed), so if your own account is the 11th you land on Basic at $35.
  • 7shifts at 50 people: Essentials caps at 30 employees, so 50 people at one site needs Pro at $89.99. The 7shifts pricing page does not say which plan includes GPS or geofencing (unconfirmed).
  • When I Work: the live pricing page shows two plans, $2.50 per user for a single location and $5 for multiple locations. Its FAQ says “Every plan includes employee scheduling, time and attendance software, and team messaging.”
  • Deputy: “All users/administrators/supervisors are considered users,” and monthly plans have a $30 minimum monthly spend. The minimum does not bite at any size in this table.
  • Sales tax, payroll processing, SMS fees and promotions are not included.

The same table on annual billing

Annual figures are the monthly equivalent of the yearly price. Every vendor here offers a discount for paying by the year except where the page publishes no number.

Tool and plan10 people25 people50 peopleAnnual discount
Homebase Essentials$24$24$2420% ($24 instead of $30)
Connecteam Operations Basic$0 (Small Business) or $29$29$45Save 18%, per Connecteam's toggle
7shifts Essentials (Pro at 50)$39.99$39.99$79.99Save 10%
Sling Premium$17$42.50$85Save 15%
When I Work single location planNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedAnnual billing is offered, but no annual price is on the page (unconfirmed)
ClockOut Starter$27.20$63.20$123.2020%
Deputy Lite$50$125$250Save 10% ($5 instead of $5.50 per user)

When open shifts or shift swaps need a higher plan

Open shifts (posting a shift anyone qualified can claim) and shift swaps (two employees trading shifts) are the features most teams buy scheduling software for. Six of the seven tools include both on the plan priced above. Connecteam is the exception: Basic lets employees claim open shifts, but shift replacements (its swap feature) start on Advanced.

Tool and planOpen shifts onShift swaps on10 people25 people50 people
HomebaseEssentialsEssentials$30$30$30
ConnecteamBasic (and the free Small Business plan)Advanced (and the free Small Business plan)$0 (Small Business) or $59$59$119
7shiftsEvery plan, including free CompEvery plan, including free Comp$44.99$44.99$89.99
SlingFree planPremium$20$50$100
When I WorkEvery planEvery plan$25$62.50$125
ClockOutStarter (not Free)Starter (not Free)$34$79$154
DeputyLiteLite$55$137.50$275

Prices are monthly billing, one location, on the plan that has both features plus a mobile time clock. Connecteam Advanced on yearly billing is $49, $49 and $99. The 7shifts free Comp plan has open shifts and trades but no time clock, so the figures use Essentials. How ClockOut handles claims, approvals and swap requests is on the open shifts and swaps page.

What three locations cost

Same headcounts, spread over three sites, monthly billing. This is where the pricing model swings the bill the most.

Tool and planPlan needed10 people25 people50 people
HomebaseEssentials x 3 locations$90$90$90
ConnecteamAdvanced (Basic has a single time clock; Advanced allows up to 3)$59$59$119
7shiftsEssentials x 3 locations$134.97$134.97$134.97 (if no site has over 30 staff)
SlingPremium; not priced by location$20$50$100
When I WorkMultiple locations plan, $5 per user$50$125$250
ClockOutPro (multiple locations is Pro only)$69$159$309
DeputyLite; not priced by location$55$137.50$275
  • Annual billing, three locations: Homebase $72, 7shifts $119.97, Connecteam Advanced $49, $49 and $99, ClockOut Pro $55.20, $127.20 and $247.20, Deputy Lite $50, $125 and $250, Sling Premium $17, $42.50 and $85. When I Work publishes no annual price.
  • Unconfirmed: 7shifts does not say whether its 30 and 60 employee caps apply per location or per account. Sling lists “multiple work locations” as a product feature but does not tie it to a plan on its pricing page, so confirm with Sling. Deputy shows no plan gate for more than one location, though “location hierarchies” and “pay by location” are on its Pro plan.

What is included at the plan priced

A low price only helps if the plan has what you need. This is what each plan in the main table includes, as stated on the vendor’s pricing page on October 15, 2026. “Not stated” means the page does not say, not that the feature is missing.

Homebase EssentialsConnecteam Basic7shifts EssentialsSling PremiumWhen I Work single locationClockOut StarterDeputy Lite
Price at 25 people, monthly$30$35$44.99$50$62.50$79$137.50
Mobile time clock✓✓✓✓✓✓✓
Location recorded on punchesYes, location-based clock-inYes, GPS stampsNot stated (unconfirmed)Page does not say GPSYes, GPS clock-inYes, GPS stamp on every planNot listed separately
GeofenceLocation-based clock-in; page does not say geofenceNo, starts on AdvancedNot stated (help center: may need an upgrade)✓Yes per FAQ, no plan gate shown✓✓
Open shifts✓Yes, claiming✓✓✓✓✓
Shift swaps✓No, starts on Advanced✓✓✓✓✓
Payroll export or integrationPayroll integrationsPayroll integration, exportable timesheetNo, payroll integration is Pro and PremiumNot listed (payroll reports are on Business)Payroll and POS integrationsGeneric CSV (ADP, Gusto and QuickBooks formatted files on Pro)Payroll integrations
Payroll processingAdd-on, $49 + $6 per employee paidNo price on the pageAdd-on, $39.99 per location + $6 per employee paidNot listedNone priced (partner offer only)NoAdd-on via Paycor, $49 + $8 per user (annual Core and Pro only)
More than one locationYes, $30 per locationOne time clock (Advanced for up to 3)Yes, $44.99 per locationListed as a feature, plan not statedNo, $5 multiple locations planNo, ProNo plan gate shown
Free planBasic: 1 location, up to 10 employeesSmall Business: up to 10 usersComp: 1 location, up to 15 employees, no time clockUp to 30 users, no time clock or swaps✗Up to 2 people, including you✗
Free trial14 days (All-in-One)14 days14 days15 days14 days14 days (Starter), no cardNot on pricing page (Deputy's industry page says up to 31 days)

Hidden costs to budget for

  • Payroll add-ons. Homebase Payroll is $49 a month plus $6 per employee paid ($29 a month for teams up to 5), so 25 employees adds 49 + 25 × 6 = $199 a month on top of the $30 plan. 7shifts Payroll (US only) is $39.99 per location a month plus $6 per employee paid, with no base fee on Premium. Deputy Payroll, enabled by Paycor, is $8 per user plus a $49 monthly base, only on annual Core and Pro plans in the US, and Deputy says the fee “varies by business size.” When I Work prices no payroll product of its own. ClockOut does not process payroll at all.
  • Per-location fees. On Homebase and 7shifts every site is a full plan fee, and their add-ons are per location too: Homebase Tip Manager $25 and Task Manager $13 per location a month; 7shifts Tip Management $49.99, Manager Log Book $14.99 and Task Management $12.99. When I Work doubles the per-user rate, from $2.50 to $5, once you have more than one location or schedule.
  • Caps and minimums. Deputy has a $30 minimum monthly spend on monthly plans. 7shifts Essentials stops at 30 employees and Pro at 60. Connecteam’s flat fee covers the first 30 users, then each extra user is billed, and each Connecteam hub is its own fee: chat and HR tools live in the Communications and HR hubs, priced separately. Homebase Basic is free only for one location and up to 10 employees.
  • Annual prices shown as the headline. Deputy’s pricing page opens on the annual view ($5 per user, “billed upfront or in monthly installments”); billed monthly, Lite is $5.50. Check which term a quote is on before you compare it.
  • Other per-user add-ons. Deputy sells HR ($2), Messaging+ ($1.95) and Analytics+ ($1.50) per user per month on top of the plan.
  • Promotions that end. Several pages run offers (free months of payroll or plan fees). They are not in these tables. Budget at the list price you will pay after the offer ends.

Which is cheapest for your setup

There is no single cheapest tool. It depends on how many people you have, how many sites, and whether you want payroll in the same app. These are the low-price picks by situation, using the tables above.

One location, about 10 people

Connecteam’s free Small Business plan costs nothing if all your accounts fit its 10-user cap. On a paid plan, Sling Premium ($20) and When I Work ($25) cost the least, then Homebase Essentials ($30), ClockOut Starter ($34), Connecteam Basic ($35), 7shifts Essentials ($44.99) and Deputy Lite ($55). If you need swaps and a geofence on the same paid plan, Sling, When I Work, ClockOut and Deputy have both on the plan priced; Connecteam needs Advanced at $59.

One location, 25 to 50 people

Homebase Essentials at $30 a month for any headcount is the lowest price at one busy site. Connecteam Basic is next at $35 (25 people) and $55 (50 people), but it has no swaps or geofence; Advanced, which has both, is $59 and $119. After that: 7shifts $44.99 (Pro at $89.99 above 30 employees), Sling $50 and $100, When I Work $62.50 and $125, ClockOut Starter $79 and $154, Deputy Lite $137.50 and $275.

Several locations

Per-location tools get expensive with many sites; per-user tools get expensive with many people. At three sites and 50 people the monthly bill runs from $90 (Homebase) to $309 (ClockOut Pro). At three sites and 10 people, Sling ($20, if its multi-location feature is on Premium) and When I Work ($50) are lowest, and 7shifts is highest at $134.97. Every added site raises Homebase by $30 and 7shifts by $44.99; on the per-user tools and on ClockOut Pro (up to 20 workplaces), site count does not change the price.

You want payroll in the same app

Homebase, 7shifts and Deputy sell payroll processing as an add-on (see hidden costs above). If you already pay a payroll provider, you only need hours to land there cleanly: Homebase, Connecteam, When I Work and Deputy list payroll integrations on the plan priced, and ClockOut exports a generic CSV on every plan and payroll-formatted files for ADP, Gusto and QuickBooks on Pro. ClockOut does not push data to payroll providers through an API; you download the file and upload it.

You only need a schedule, no time clock

Three free plans schedule without a time clock: Sling Free (up to 30 users, with open shifts and shift offers), 7shifts Comp (one location, up to 15 employees, with open shifts and trades) and Homebase Basic (one location, up to 10 employees; it clocks in on tablets, computers and POS devices, but location-based mobile clock-in and shift trades need Essentials).

What ClockOut costs, and where it is not the cheapest

ClockOut Starter is $19 a month for up to 5 people, then $3 each. Pro is $39 a month for up to 5 people, then $6 each. Annual billing takes 20% off either plan, every new company gets a 14-day Starter trial with no card, and the Free plan covers up to 2 active people, including you. Owners and admins count as people. Full details are on the pricing page.

StarterPro
10 people, monthly$34$69
25 people, monthly$79$159
50 people, monthly$154$309
10 people, annual (per month)$27.20$55.20
25 people, annual (per month)$63.20$127.20
50 people, annual (per month)$123.20$247.20
Weekly schedule and GPS-stamped time clock✓✓
Open shifts and shift swaps✓✓
Geofence enforcement✓✓
Shared tablet kiosk (PIN or QR badge)✓✓
Generic CSV export✓✓
Multiple work locations (up to 20)✗✓
Payroll-formatted files for ADP, Gusto and QuickBooks✗✓
Payroll processing✗✗

To be plain about it: on price alone, ClockOut is mid-pack. At one location, Homebase, Sling and When I Work cost less at 10, 25 and 50 people, and Connecteam costs less at 25 and 50 (and is free at 10 if you fit its cap). ClockOut Starter costs less than Deputy Lite at every size, less than 7shifts at 10 people, and less than Connecteam Advanced at 10 people if you are past the free plan. With three locations, ClockOut Pro is the most expensive option here at 25 and 50 people. What you get for the Starter price is open shifts, swaps, a geofence and a tablet kiosk on one plan, with no per-site fee once you move to Pro. More on how the schedule works is on the employee scheduling page.

FAQ

How much does employee scheduling software cost?
For a US team on monthly billing at one location, scheduling software with a mobile time clock costs $20 to $55 a month at 10 people, $30 to $137.50 at 25 people and $30 to $275 at 50 people. The cheapest are Connecteam’s free Small Business plan at 10 people and Homebase Essentials ($30 per location) at 25 and 50; the priciest at every size is Deputy Lite. Prices checked October 15, 2026 on each vendor’s pricing page.
How much does scheduling software cost per employee?
Per-user rates on monthly billing, checked October 15, 2026: Sling Premium $2 ($1.70 annual), When I Work $2.50 at one location ($5 for multiple locations), ClockOut Starter $3 per extra person after a $19 base that covers 5, Deputy Lite $5.50 ($5 annual), ClockOut Pro $6 per extra person after a $39 base. Homebase and 7shifts charge per location instead. Connecteam charges a flat $35 for the first 30 users on Operations Basic, then $1 per extra user.
What is the cheapest employee scheduling software for a small business?
At about 10 people, Connecteam’s free Small Business plan (up to 10 users), then Sling Premium at $20 a month. At 25 to 50 people at one location, Homebase Essentials at $30 a month, because it charges per location with unlimited employees. With several sites and few people, per-user tools such as Sling and When I Work usually cost less than per-location tools.
Is there free employee scheduling software?
Yes, with limits. Connecteam Small Business is free for up to 10 users. Homebase Basic is free for one location and up to 10 employees. Sling Free covers up to 30 users but has no time tracking or shift swaps. 7shifts Comp is free for one location and up to 15 employees, without time clocking. ClockOut Free covers up to 2 people with basic scheduling and a GPS-stamped time clock. When I Work and Deputy have no free plan, only trials.
Do I need a higher plan for shift swaps or open shifts?
Only on some tools. Connecteam lets employees claim open shifts on Basic, but shift replacements (swaps) start on Advanced, $59 a month for up to 30 users. On ClockOut, open shifts and swaps are on Starter and Pro, not Free. Sling has open shifts on its free plan and swaps on Premium. Homebase Essentials, When I Work, Deputy Lite and every 7shifts plan include both.
What does scheduling software cost for multiple locations?
For three locations on monthly billing: Homebase $90 at any headcount, 7shifts $134.97 (if no site has over 30 staff), Connecteam Advanced $59 up to 30 users and $119 at 50, When I Work $5 per user ($50, $125, $250 at 10, 25, 50 people), ClockOut Pro $69, $159 and $309. Deputy and Sling do not price by location, so three sites cost the same as one.
Does employee scheduling software include payroll?
Not at the prices above. Homebase Payroll is $49 a month plus $6 per employee paid, 7shifts Payroll is $39.99 per location plus $6 per employee paid, and Deputy Payroll (by Paycor) is $49 plus $8 per user on annual Core and Pro plans. ClockOut does not process payroll; Pro exports payroll-formatted files for ADP, Gusto and QuickBooks so you keep your current provider.

Related reading

Sources and method

Written by the ClockOut product team. Prices checked October 15, 2026: every competitor price was read on the vendor’s own pricing page (in a real browser where the page needed JavaScript), and each figure at 10, 25 and 50 people was worked out from the rule that page states. List prices only; promotions, sales tax and SMS fees are left out. We sell one of the products listed and do not take payment for placement.

Vendors change packaging often. If you are reading this more than a month after October 15, 2026, re-check the two or three prices that decide your choice.

Keep reading
Comparisons

Deputy Pricing 2026: What 10, 25 and 50 Person Teams Really Pay

Comparisons

When I Work Pricing 2026: What 10, 25 and 50 Person Teams Pay

Comparisons

Homebase Pricing 2026: Per-Location Plans, Payroll Add-On and Real Bills at 1 and 3 Locations